What is Theoretical Biology?
Theoretical Biology at the University of Bonn

| Diese Seite auf Deutsch

Theoretical Biology searches to discover characteristic principles of order within the variety of biological phenomena by describing the organizational dynamics of living systems in a formal way. In addition to a more profound understanding of single phenomena, it has brought about new starting points in the search for answers to the most fundamental questions in biology: What is life? How did the organisms evolve? How to explain the tremendous complexity and variety of living systems?

Theoretical Biology is rooted in the times of the Enlightenment. However, it started to prosper only in this century. At the beginning, Johannes Reinke, Julius Schaxel, and Jakob von Uexküll formulated the concept of Theoretical Biology for the first time. In the twenties and thirties, Fisher, Haldane, Lotka, Volterra, v. Bertalanffy, and others founded the modern type of a mathematically oriented Theoretical Biology by developing population genetics, population ecology, and general systems theory. Nowadays, it has infiltrated almost every field in biology.

Despite of being independent, Theoretical Biology stays in intimate dialogue with experimental biological research. However, in contrast to the latter it uses mathematics as its language and computers as the most important tools - very similar to Theoretical Physics, which gave some important impulses during its development. By allowing simulations, computers help to understand very complex processes, intuitively, thus complementing the mathematical analysis of simplified models. In addition, philosophical and epistemological questions are investigated in Theoretical Biology. The precise definition of biological terms and the characterization of cognition by using formal systems, in general, are fundamental tasks of Theoretical Biology now and in future.

Theoretical Biology is naturally interdisciplinary. It draws ideas from other disciplines and, in reverse, supports them by quantification and precision. Therefore, it is on the way to become a general and extensive structural science of organized systems, which might be able to point out similarities between the organization of physico-chemical, biological, economical, and social systems.

At the University of Bonn the Theoretical Biology has existed as a subdepartment (of the Botanical Institute resp. IZMB) for 26 years, from 1986 to 2012. It was an examination subject for diploma in biology as well as for PhD at the Science Faculty and is now suceeded by the new subject Computational Life Sciences.

25 years of Theoretical Biology at Bonn University (pdf)
Special issue No. 14 of ECMTB (pdf)

Was ist Theoretische Biologie?
Theoretische Biologie an der Universität Bonn

| This page in English

Die Theoretische Biologie sucht nach charakteristischen Ordnungsprinzipien in der Vielfalt der biologischen Phänomene, indem sie die organisatorische Dynamik lebender Systeme auf formale Art und Weise beschreibt. Sie hat nicht nur ein tieferes Verständnis singulärer Phänomene gebracht, sondern auch neue Ansatzpunkte für die Suche nach Antworten auf die fundamentalen Fragen der Biologie: Was ist Leben? Wie haben sich die Organismen entwickelt?

Die Theoretische Biologie hat ihre Wurzeln in den Zeiten der Aufklärung. Dennoch begann sie erst im 20. Jahrhundert aufzublühen. Johannes Reinke, Julius Schaxel und Jakob von Uexküll formulierten erstmals das Konzept der Theoretischen Biologie. In den Zwanziger und Dreißiger Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts schufen Fisher, Haldane, Lotka, Volterra, von Bertalanffy und andere die Basis einer modernen, mathematisch orientierten Theoretischen Biologie. Sie entwickelten Populationsgenetik, Populationsökologie und allgemeine Systemtheorie. Heute hat diese mathematisch orientierte Theoretische Biologie Eingang in nahezu jedes Gebiet der Biologie gefunden.

Obwohl die Theoretische Biologie ein eigenständiges Fach ist, steht sie im engen Dialog mit der experimentellen biologischen Forschung. Im Gegensatz zu dieser verwendet sie die Mathematik als ihre Sprache und Computer als ihre wichtigsten Werkzeuge - sehr ähnlich der Theoretischen Physik, die während ihrer Entwicklung einige wichtige Impulse gab. Computer helfen, indem sie Simulationen ermöglichen, sehr komplexe Vorgänge intuitiv zu verstehen und ergänzen so die mathematische Analyse vereinfachter Modelle. Außerdem beschäftigt sich die Theoretische Biologie mit philosophischen und epistemologischen Fragen. Die präzise Definition biologischer Begriffe und die Charakterisierung von Kognition unter Verwendung von formaler Systeme sind fundamentale Aufgaben der Theoretischen Biologie heute und in der Zukunft.

Die Theoretische Biologie ist natürlich ein interdisziplinäres Fach. Sie findet neue Ideen in anderen Disziplinen und unterstützt diese durch Quantifizierung und Präzisierung. Daher entwickelt sie sich zu einer generellen und extensiven strukturellen Wissenschaft organisierter Systeme, die eines Tages in der Lage sein könnte, strukturelle Ähnlichkeiten zwischen physiko-chemischen, biologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Systemen aufzuzeigen.

An der Universität Bonn hat die Theoretische Biologie von 1986 bis 2012, also für einen Zeitraum von 26 Jahren, als Abteilung des Botanischen Instituts (ab 2003 des IZMB) exisitiert. Theoretische Biologie war Hauptfach im Biologie-Diplom sowie Promotionsfach der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät und ist nunmehr aufgegangen in das neue Fach Computational Life Sciences.

Siehe auch den Bericht: 25 Jahre Theoretische Biologie (pdf) und Sonderband Nr. 14 der ECMTB (pdf)